How it once started
The noble family Gaci built in the house in 1620.
In Toscany 90 kilometer south of Florence you will find the beautiful medieval village Castiglion Fiorentino. We enter the valley “Valle di Chio” and soon we see the estate Todiolo in front of us. Todiolo has e breathtaking panorama. We see the village right in front of us and on the left we see the castle Montecchio. Valle di Chio flows into the Valle di Chiana (from Arezzo up to the Trassimeno lake). The name Todiolo comes from the Etruscan language. Nobody knows exactly what this name means. (some think: "small border place" or "small Todi" that means: “small protected place” , others: "glory place of god”.
The chapel on top of the hill was built around 1650 and the ruin can still be visited and view. Todiolo is also the name of the house. Annelies has in 1997 restored Todiolo together with Rossano Gallorini (geometra) and craft people from the village. Care has been taken to preserve the typical Tuscan architecture. The result is astonishingly beautiful.